The 15 tournaments of the UEFA European Championship have been won by 15 different coaches. But which coaches are the key factors? Let’s break down the stand-out figures.


Gavriil Kachalin (USSR), EURO 1960

José Villalonga (Spain), EURO 1964

Ferruccio Valcareggi (Italy), EURO 1968

Helmut Schön (West Germany), EURO 1972

Václav Ježek (Czechoslovakia), EURO 1976

Jupp Derwall (West Germany), EURO 1980

Michel Hidalgo (France), EURO 1984

Rinus Michels (Netherlands), EURO 1988

Richard Møller Nielsen (Denmark), EURO 1992

Berti Vogts (Germany), EURO 1996

Roger Lemerre (France), EURO 2000

Otto Rehhagel (Greece), EURO 2004

Luis Aragonés (Spain), EURO 2008

Vicente del Bosque (Spain), EURO 2012

Fernando Santos (Portugal), EURO 2016

• There is no coach who has won the tittle twice and only two have won both the EURO and the World Cup:

Helmut Schön (Germany), EURO 1972, World Cup 1974

Vicente del Bosque (Spain), World Cup 2010, EURO 2012

• Helmut Schön is the only coach to have led a team for two EURO finals; his West Germany side followed up their 1972 victory with a defeat on penalties to Czechoslovakia in the 1976 version.

  • Berti Vogts – a member of Schön’s 1972 Germany team – is the only person to have won the EURO as a player and then a coach after leading Germany to be the champion in 1996.

• German coach Otto Rehhagel is the only coach to have won a EURO with a foreign team: he led Greece to glory in the 2004 edition in Portugal.

• Luis Aragonés is the oldest coach to have won a EURO. He was 69 years and 336 days old on the day when Spain won over Germany at EURO 2008 final match.

• Spain’s José Villalonga is the youngest coach to have won a EURO. He was 44 years and 192 days old on the day of his nation’s 1964 EURO final win against the USSR.